Senator Bassey Albert (OBA) honoured as Most outstanding Senator in Nigeria in Abuja

On Wednesday 14th October 2020 Distinguished Senator Bassey Albert (OBA), Chairman, Senate Committee on Petroleum Resources upstream was at a colourful ceremony honoured as the Most outstanding Senator in Nigeria in the 2020 Democracy Heroes Award organized by Face of Democracy Project and held at Transcrop Hilton hotel, Abuja. 

Reacting to the honour, Senator OBA noted ” I dedicate this award to the people of Uyo Senatorial District (Akwa Ibom North-East) and Akwa Ibom State that found me worthy for re-election to represent them again in the 9th Nigerian Senate”.

The vibrant Senator added ”Like I repeatedly echoed during my electioneering campaigns-the trust and confidence reposed in me by my constituents will never be taken for granted or misplaced. The opportunity they gave me has enabled me to make some meaningful contributions to the growth of our great country”.

Albert who doubles as the Leader of Akwa Ibom Caucus in the National Assembly went further ”Probably this would not have been possible without the support of the leadership of the Senate under Distinguished Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan, Ph.D. and my distinguished colleagues that have been working round the clock to ensure we meet the aspirations of Nigerians”.

He concluded his remarks this way ”I believe that this award will not only motivate me for more services to the Nation but will also put to limelight some of the things we have individually and collectively championed for the interest of Nigeria and the good of our people. To God be the Glory”.
The awards came in 15 categories as well as posthumous awards conferred on fallen heroes.

Recipients of the awards included the wife of the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Mrs. Aisha Buhari; former President of Nigeria, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan; Secretary to the government of the federation, Boss Mustapha; His Imperial Majesty Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi, the Ooni of Ife and the Senator representing Akwa Ibom North-East Senatorial District and Chairman, Senate Committee on Petroleum Resources (Upstream), Senator Bassey Albert Akpan (OBA).

Others were: Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami; minister of foreign affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama; Minister of communication and Digital Economy, Dr. Isa Pantami; minister of women affairs, Dame Pauline Tallen; Governor Bello Matawale, Zamfara; Governor Seyi Makinde, Oyo State;   Governor Ishaku Darius, Taraba State; Governor Nasir El Rufai Kaduna State;  Senator Ike Ekweremadu, and Senator Sani Uba.

Listed under the posthumous categories were late Chief Obafemi Awolowo, first indigenous Premier of Western Nigeria; Alhaji Tafawa Balewa, Nigeria’s first Prime Minister; Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe, Nigeria’s first President, and MKO Abiola, winner of the aborted June 12, 1993, presidential election.
A statement by the organizers said that Democracy Heroes Awards as a globally recognized leadership prize also at the event honoured Africa and global black leaders that are heroes of democracy.

The past global leaders on the list of posthumous awards for 2020 events include the late Martin Luther King of the USA, Nelson Mandela of South Africa, and Kwame Nkrumah of Ghana. The organizing committee of the awards, in a press statement, explained that the recognitions are aimed at deepening the patriotic principles of democracy in Nigeria and Africa as well as to bring forth the spirit of nationalism in a bid to encourage African youths to wake up to the leadership responsibilities of the future.”
“This decision will set the pace for the younger generation of Nigerians and Africans at large to emulate and imbibe leadership traits of the founding fathers of our great continent, Mr. Olufunsho Alexander Ajagbona, the president of the organization, stated recently.

The committee added that “the awards have in its record Governors, ministers, senators, House of Representatives members, public servants as well as top business executives as past recipients of these prestigious awards since its inception in 2013.”
Democracy Heroes Awards is aimed at deepening the patriotic principles of democracy in Nigeria and Africa as well as to bring forth the spirit of nationalism in a bid to encourage African youths to wake up to the leadership responsibilities of the future.

Mr. Ajagbona further explained that the awards as an initiative of FDN projects was launched six years ago to recognize, honour, and celebrate men and women who have contributed to the development of our nation.
According to him, the recipients are awarded in recognition of their courageous actions and exemplary leadership. “These heroes have manifested a life and leadership style that distinguishes them from ordinary citizens or politicians, as they have used their public office as a key instrument to better the lives of many.

“Face of Democracy Nigeria (FDN) projects is an organization designed to celebrate institutions, men and women who are committed to the development and sustenance of our growing democracy in Nigeria.
“We identify and honour them as heroes of democracy with their roles and activeness in various endeavours. These men and women are seen as role models worth emulating and as a motivation to our generation and after us,” he added.

Leave a Reply